top of page

Quarantine Challenge


Two months in quarantine was more than enough to help us find ourselves. Personally, at the start of this period, I was not just lost but a mess too, I had none idea who I was or who I wanted to be. The end of that period of my life was the day when I've done that extraordinary experiment, in our teen minds, Mrs xenia ordered us so persistently to do. What was that? It was four hours without any kind of screens like television, mobile phone, and laptop. The point was to get bored because, as in a TEDx talk, Mrs. Xenia showed us, says, "Boredom, can truly lead to Brilliance!". So, let's see what I've done during this challenge.


The No.1 thing that I've done was to wake up, brush my teeth, and have a delicious fancy breakfast. Its been a while since I woke up, and I did not check my Instagram status. I have to admit that it was kind of odd, but the feeling that I did not need my mobile phone that day was pleasing.







The No.2 activity in my challenge was to redesign my whole wardrobe. Since I was a kid, I always wanted to have a closet where all my clothes are in hangers, but I could not do it. So, that day I just took the tools in my hands and started building it on my own. And, voila my dream wardrobe after an hour became a reality.


The No.3 activity that I've done was to nail my nails. Well, as if I am not the most talented person on such things, that was a great challenge for me. The fact that I had a lot of time was in advance for me, because I pay more attention, and I was more careful about nailing them. As an outcome, compared to other times, I had astonishing results for my standards.


The No.4 activity was to do some homework. I am a person who used to do her homework systematically, but during quarantine, I left everything, and I did not dare to start again studying. Also, there were plenty of times that I did not join my lessons and especially maths. After all, I knew nothing of what we were doing. However, that day I was so bored, and I decided to check my book and revise everything. Therefore, the next time I had a Math lesson, I joined, and I was confident and ready to learn. What surprised me was that even my teacher recognized that I was back.


The No.5 was the closing of my challenge. Lay on my bed, watching my ceiling, and thinking about nothing, just that I was bored! Even though the four hours had passed, I wanted to extend a little bit more, and I realized, time does not move fast sometimes. We have a lot of time to do whatever we want, and the excuse of not having the time is just a silly excuse for being bored! Also, that time, I thought of the fact that I would be more productive to avoid watching series all day and do all those things that I want to, as today. The last thing that I realized was that the gadget devices are messing with my head and controlling me by avoiding my mind to be free and relax as I was that day. Last but not least, they distract me from seeing that beautiful nature outside my window as well, and inside, they distract me from seeing the beauty in life!


The truth is that boredom can truly lead to brilliance as led me!

My conclusion for that challenge is that I should try more to avoid my phone, laptop, or whatever. I should enjoy more real-life than the social one. For none reason, I would say not to watch movies, series, or having social media. I only state that it would be much better not to be so obsessed with them. After all, what stays in your memory is the moments you live in reality, and the extraordinary things you do when you are bored.


Date:10.05.2020, Sunday.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page